You are invited to A Franciscan Federation Book Discussion Series.

Members of the Franciscan Federation will facilitate this unique opportunity for prayer, study, dialogue and discussion on racial injustice. Isabel Wilkerson’s book provides a guide to race and racial brutality in the US, told through the allegory of caste, the latter viewed as the skeleton under the flesh of black-white relationships in the 400-year history of what became the US.

Caste—The Origins of Our Discontents is an eye-opening story of people and history, and a reexamination of what lies under the surface of ordinary lives and of American life today”.

We offer several options for this three part book discussion series please indicate first and second choice on the registration form.

Sunday, February 6, 13 and 20. 7 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 pm PST.

  • Facilitator: Pat Millen, OSF, Region 6, Sisters of St. Francis of Philadelphia

Monday, February 7, 14, 21 at 7p.m. EST, 6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 pm PST.

  • Facilitator: Maryann Mueller, CSSF, Felician Sisters

Wednesdays, February 2, 9 and 16. 3 p.m. EST, 2 p.m. CST, 1 p.m. MST, 12 p.m. PST.

  • Facilitator: Kay Klackner, FSCC, Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity

Wednesday, February 2, 9 and 16. 7 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 pm PST.

  • Facilitator: Rose Marie Kujawa, CSSF, Felician Sisters

Thursday, February 3, 10, 17 at 7 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 pm PST.

  • Facilitator: Colleen Collins, Companion Director, Sisters of St. Francis of Philadelphia

Friday Feb 4, 11, 18, 2022 at 6 p.m. EST, 5 p.m. CST, 4 p.m. MST, 3 pm PST.

  • Facilitator: Carolyn D. Townes, OFS, Emergent Group

Preparation for each session:  Reading, Personal Prayer and Reflection 

To reserve a place, please RSVP as soon as possible. 

    Please pick two.

    First Choice

    Copies of CASTE by Isabel Wilkerson are available at your local bookstore or on-line. Each book discussion group is limited to12 participants. Email confirmation with Zoom link will be sent day before session.